Essential oils for happiness and health!

Since I started seeing an acupuncturist and Chinese medicine practitioner about a year ago, I’ve been introduced to the world of essential oils for health purposes. Although I have always loved essential oils for their smell (yum, lavender oil in the bath!), I never knew they had medicinal and health effects that could replace modern day medicines and treatments.

As I’m writing this, I’m diffusing Cheer Up Buttercup by Now in my ceramic diffuser. This is the most recent addition to my collection, a wonderful citrus smell permeates the house during the day while I’m working. Imagine baking a lemon pie, or squeezing fresh lemons in the kitchen, you get the idea! Whether subliminal or not, I do feel happier during the day, and LOVE sitting at my desk inhaling these beautiful scents.

 The love doesn’t stop there. Cheer Up Buttercup is a combination of Bergamot, orange, lime, grapefuit and lemon oils. When inhaled, the oils are known to be refreshing, uplifting and calming. Not too bad! Taken internally, citrus oils can be used for improved digestion, clearing skin, and even whitening teeth. Check out Dr. Axes’ blog for his Top 10 Uses for Lemon Essential Oil.

 Other favorite essential oils for health include two types by Young Living called Panaway and Stress Away. Stress Away is a wonderful blend of lime, cedar, vanilla and lavender. I inhale it during the day, put a drop on my wrist to mix with my perfume, and swipe a drop or two across my pillow at night to help me sleep.

Earlier last summer, I injured my shoulder and for the first time, developed chronic pain in my shoulder AC joint from a minor tear. My chiropractor used Panaway to heal and treat it (a lovely combination of wintergreen, clove, helichrysum and peppermint), and my acupuncturist used Peppermint Oil. After bathing in the morning, I would use both oils on my shoulder. Not only did it provide some pain relief and true healing benefits, but I smelled great through the day!

If taking oils internally, I’d recommend looking for high quality, organic versions (there are many oils on the market that aren’t food grade, so please check!). Enjoy trying some new oils in your life, and let me know what oils you use and how you use them!!

Leave a Reply

